Animations in 'good' and 'bad' games

Started by
0 comments, last by cardinal 11 years, 7 months ago
Hello

Let me begin to say that im new to game development, but I have a question that Ive been thinking about for a while. If you look at big games like Call of duty, World of Warcraft and Assassins Creed etc. All of those games have really good and smooth character animations and effects when your fighting (using spells, abilities and movements during combat).

I play a lot of action games, including indie games. But one thing that really seperates the good from the bad games is the way your character fights and moves. I would never have guessed that the effects and animations of fighting would be one of the more difficult or more demanding part of the game development?

For example:
[media]
[/media]

Mortal Online is a MMORPG and they had a budget of about 1 million USD and about 10 employees working on the game. But the animations and effects when your fighting is really bad, just like 100s of other action indie games i played. I recognize that time is a problem for indie productions. But not even the most basic anmiations and effects like swinging a sword comes close in quality to the big titles.

Shouldnt a good animator/(effect artist?) be able to quite easily make the same animation that for example World of Warcraft has when their characters are swinging a sword? Based on the 100s of games i played it doesn't seem like it, but why?
Advertisement
Animation is a vast domain with not a lot of focus put into it, it's often a sidenote to rendering or AI. For example, there isn't even an animation specific forum on gamedev, which I find odd.

I've worked on animation as a programmer for a few years now on a couple of AAA titles, and I think that it would be VERY hard (maybe not impossible) for a 10 man team to compete with the big boys for the following reasons: