Superman[3 2 7 5] (Vector! Yes!) Needs Help

Started by
2 comments, last by Cornstalks 11 years, 6 months ago
Can someone show me some applications for matrices in 2d graphics programming, or other facets of linear algebra being used in game programming. I just don't see where a lot of these topics are very useful yet?

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement

Can someone show me some applications for matrices in 2d graphics programming, or other facets of linear algebra being used in game programming. I just don't see where a lot of these topics are very useful yet?

SFML uses matrices to position, rotate, and scale sprites. This matrix is used when rendering the sprites to transform the vertices into the right positions.

Also, please choose better thread titles. You don't need to put your name in it saying you need help (that's pretty obvious by the fact that you're creating a thread). Rather, help people know what it is you're asking about (for example, title it something like "Applications for matrices in 2D graphics programming?").
[size=2][ I was ninja'd 71 times before I stopped counting a long time ago ] [ f.k.a. MikeTacular ] [ My Blog ] [ SWFer: Gaplessly looped MP3s in your Flash games ]