Side Scrolling Puzzle RPG; Looking For Feedback

Started by
4 comments, last by ManuelMarino 11 years, 4 months ago
I have a series of questions about the game I'm programming right now, however first, an explanation.

The title of the game is Hooded.

Hooded is a 2D tile/puzzle based platformer with RPG elements. The only weapons your character can wield is swords, and they can move one block at a time (No standing in-between the tiles).

Questions:

1) If you could only move one block at a time, your character was one block wide, and you had to kill an enemy with your sword, do you believe it'd be harder than if you could stand in-between blocks? What do you believe could fix this problem for you?

2) What traits would you like to be able to upgrade on your character in a 2d Platformer?
Example:
I would like to improve my characters Health because I'm not good at avoiding monsters.
I would like to improve my characters Damage because I am good at avoiding monsters, however I like getting by them as fast as possible when I do encounter them.

3) If some ways into the game, a new enemy type was introduced that could shoot projectiles at you, how would you react.
Example:
I'd be glad because it'd give me more challenge.
I'd be unhappy because it'd make the game harder, and I like being able to enjoy my games without having to focus on killing the enemies too much.

4) What do you think would make it easily distinguishable (for you) from multiple difficulty levels.
Example:
The enemies on easy should have less health than on Hard.
The enemies on easy should have normal health, however enemies on higher difficulty levels should have more health.

All feedback is appreciated, I'll eventually update this thread with screenshots :)!

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!