Suggestions for Entering Field of Game Design

Started by
4 comments, last by emcconnell 11 years ago

Hello,

I am a college student looking at transferring to a game design program, but would like some pointers on where to start before entering the classes. It seems there is alot on the topic online, but most of the places are junk sites. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, I have heard that testing is a good way to get one's foot in the door, but am unable to find a place apply for such a position. I am aware that it is rather rigorous and involves replaying sections hundreds of times for a report on bugs and glitches. This does not bother me, as it would be nice to assure the quality of games for other gamers. If anyone could give me pointers on either of these topics I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you,

Joshua

Advertisement

1. looking at transferring to a game design program,

2. but would like some pointers on where to start before entering the classes.

3. It seems there is alot on the topic online, but most of the places are junk sites.

4. I have heard that testing is a good way to get one's foot in the door,

5. but am unable to find a place apply for such a position.

1. Why? http://www.igda.org/games-game-june-2009

2. Some ideas at http://sloperama.com/advice/lesson12.htm

3. Yes, it's a shame.

4. Well, it's not for everybody. It's for people who cannot get in any other way.

5. Every game developer and publisher needs testers. Use gamedevmap and gameindustrymap to identify game companies in your local area. Then send in your resume (do not wait for a job ad -- you won't see one). Read these:

http://sloperama.com/advice/lesson5.htm

http://sloperama.com/advice/lesson27.htm

http://sloperama.com/advice/lesson24.htm

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

I thank you very much for your information. That was much faster of a reply than I had anticipated.

Hi Joshua,