Question Re Designing Color-based Games

Started by
4 comments, last by zenwarlord 10 years, 10 months ago
Hello. I'm a complete newbie on game programming. Did a little demo of a color and music concept that got positive feedback & am hoping to scale up the concept for investors that have signed on, hopefully by using C++ and using 3D rendering. Rapidly changing color under very controlled rules is the essence of the game, and vector graphics with Action Script worked to an extent while music sequences played back. The load on the machine was manageable.

Could any of you please give advice on what tools, if any, will allow me to control rapid color changes of objects in 3-D, while appearing to do so on multiple textured objects simultaneously, based upon real time data like a spontaneous mouse movement, pitch bend event in MIDI, or the like? Is this even possible using an existing open source game engine or Open GL? Or could it possibly be done for fast enough PCs by creating a new engine. I just want to spontaneously & quickly vary color simultaneously and independently over several well textured objects like metal balls comprising a tunnel of shiny metal balls. I was thinking of making a library of 100 or so 'alpha maps' (forgive me, i know not what i say) that could be applied over the ball texture, each one successively farther around a hue wheel; then, when play the individually or sequentially from that library, according to the mouse or pitch bend data series.
Advertisement

I'm not sure I really understand what your asking for... changing the color of an object is a fairly trivial thing to do (so speed is not an issue). The "tools" would be nearly any graphics API (e.g. OpenGL).