What do you thinks about Torque3D ?

Started by
8 comments, last by Dwarf King 10 years, 4 months ago

i'm thinking to learn Torque3d because it licensed under MIT and i'd like to know what do you think ? or maybe another suggestion about another open source engine ? thank you :)

Advertisement

Knowledge is certainly not a bad thing so I would never recommend against learning something. But the question might be phrased, "Is it worth my time, or should I spend that time learning another tool?" That depends on what you intend to do with the tool, and if it's the right tool for that task.

I can say this... I used Torque3D in a game class I took and I absolutely hated it. I guess as a programmer I like to get my hands dirty with code Torque is a lot of GUI / Torque script unless you want to get dirty and change something in the source of the engine. I would suggest Unity3D (not sure if open source) over Torque if I was to go that route. Just my 2-cents.

i think of it as an old cryengine game engine. It has potential but it depends on what you need it for. Could you specify

UNREAL ENGINE 4:
Total LOC: ~3M Lines
Total Languages: ~32

--
GREAT QUOTES:
I can do ALL things through Christ - Jesus Christ
--
Logic will get you from A-Z, imagination gets you everywhere - Albert Einstein
--
The problems of the world cannot be solved by skeptics or cynics whose horizons are limited by the obvious realities. - John F. Kennedy

TL;DR - Maratis3D

Torque3D was once a great tool, superior to Unity by then, but someone "really smart" decided to drop OpenGL in favor of Direct3D, what a good decision it was...

This means the engine couldn't target linux and macs and, on top of that, possible ports to consoles like playstation or mobile platforms were undermined.

In other words, they killed themselves.

To try and survive from its previous user base, it has gone Open-Source under the X11 License (MIT). I guess this was an attempt to keep their asset store alive for a little longer.