Asking for advice to start Game Development

Started by
7 comments, last by Heart Locker 10 years, 3 months ago

Hi there ! I'm a guy with passion for Computer Science & Video Games , and I would like to start Game Development. However , I'm not entirely sure how to start off ! The thing is : I have been programming with C++ for about 2-3 years now , and I'd say I have a good knowledge on C++ (not so much on Object-oriented programming , more on algorithms. but I'll learn new stuff very fast in c++)

So I am here to ask for an advice : How should I start learning Game Development ? Should I start working with Object-Oriented C++ and make my game by programming (with no engine) , Should I start learning how to use engines such as Unity/UDK and leave the programming for later , Should I start making 2D games first , instead of going directly to 3D ?

What advice could you give me to help me start Game Development ?

Thank you , I appreciate it ! biggrin.png

Advertisement

How should I start learning Game Development ? Should I start working with Object-Oriented C++ and

Moving you to the For Beginners forum. Please read the FAQ there. Good luck!

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

If you want to make 3D games, just dive into that. If you don't care all that much, go 2D -- there are a billion fewer things to know. You can get going much faster with 2D games.

I know *many* people here will disagree with this, but yes, leave whatever "programming" you need to learn until you hit the point where you need it. While there is (in most cases) a need for programming while making a game, coding is a subset of game development.

No, do not start making a game from scratch -- use an existing engine or framework. Unless the act of programming is what floats your boat and not actually making a game. There's nothing wrong with that, but if you want to actually get a game finished so you and others can play it, starting from scratch is a waste of time.