Game Engine for card game

Started by
8 comments, last by DejaimeNeto 10 years, 3 months ago

I am looking for a Game Engine that is suited to create a card game. I prefer to use 2d and any engine that uses any language. I have basic knowledge in C++ and a little bit in Python. Still I am willing to learn any language that is best suitable to create a card game biggrin.png

Advertisement

The problem with a game card is the AI, something that you cannot achieve without coding I suppose. A tool like GameMaker would be perfect for the graphical part, but not for the AI.

I suggest to take a good API like SFML2 or SDL2 and code your game, at least you'll end learn something AND get your game done.

For a card game, I'd recommend Construct 2 or a different engine that can create browser-based games. Or you could do the HTML and other coding yourself if you really wanted.

I'm not sure if Construct 2 is great for coding enemy AI or not, but I'd strongly recommend not having an enemy AI for a card game unless you know how hard programming a good AI is. Interesting card interactions are insanely complicated to handle in AI code since you basically won't know how effective each combination is. Focus on a game that is fun for humans to play against humans at first, then use profits to add AI if your game succeeds.

Even if you do a two-player only game you have to have the program knows the rules of the game. Again, you have to code some kind of basic AI. You can do it by learning some proprietary scripting dialect like GameMaker's gml or with a standard, good old c++ ;)

Anyway, take my suggest like the one of a programmer, more interested in the technology than the game itself.

Java's 2D API should require no maintenance for future operating systems if you don't mind that Java won't let you use global functions.

I recommend to use C++ for developing this game or make a game engine and use your engine to develop your game