Could I get a little advice please?

Started by
4 comments, last by Buster2000 10 years, 2 months ago

Hello, I'm new to the world of game design but I have been wondering around it for quite some time now. Is there any sort of particular path that I need to take into it? for example, is there a certain language that I would need to learn before the rest?

I would like to eventually be able to program various different languages and make creditable games.

Thank you to all who read this and any advice is much appreciated :)

Advertisement

There is no "one path" you can follow, and without knowing your background it's hard to be specific in telling you how to proceed. Do you have any prior non-game-related programming experience? Are you more interested in programming or game design itself? Are you an artist or musician?

Likewise there is no "best language." Though if you are already experienced in any language than that would be the best candidate.

This might help to get you started.

NO BWAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

Sorry, couldn't resist...

In my view, there are two kind of people:

- The ones who believe you should focus on learning a really hard low level programming language, focusing on how it works first. Then when you know how all the internal details of how the code is run/organized you start learning coding logic and advance algorithms.

- The ones who believe you should focus on learning a really easy programming language and focus on the algorithm logic. After you can intuitively solve problems, you go and learn about how the code is run and organized.

If you take the first approach, learn how to code on C, learn how pointers work, the function call stack is organized, how the returns are stored and how all the data of your computer are just a sequence of 0's and 1's. Once you are done with that, go study dynamic programming, greedy algorithms and algorithm complexity.