Launching the game with predeterminated arguments

Started by
4 comments, last by ferrous 10 years, 1 month ago

Hello!

I've depeloped an application in C++ using CEGUI that works similar than steam or the league of legends launcher.

You have your account to enter, add your friends inside the application and then you can play a game with one friend by inviting him to the game.

The game has been developed on unity.

My question is, how can I launch my unity game giving it the right parameters from my C++ Code to make that it starts the game with you and your friend just like games like league of legends, or DOTA does?

Any tutorial, guide, or something that point me in the right direction, because I really don't know where should I start.

Thanks very much!

Advertisement

You can just execute the executable with some arguments using C++ very easily (in the worst case even using system()).

I'm not an expert at C#, but if I'm right you can use C# to retrieve the command line arguments and act accordingly on the Game/Unity-side.

I have not looked into launching unity with arguments, not sure it supports it.

Unity has a player settings class, is there a way to access it outside of Unity itself?

Another way to do it, is to save the stuff you have from the launcher to a file, and then read that file in Unity. It's a bit roundabout, but if the file is small enough it should be fairly quick.

My question is, how can I launch my unity game giving it the right parameters from my C++ Code to make that it starts the game with you and your friend just like games like league of legends, or DOTA does?

You will need to put on whatever parameters you want when you call it. Command line options are one frequent option. Creating a custom environment and adding environment variables is another more clandestine method.