confused on the path

Started by
3 comments, last by SeanMiddleditch 9 years, 11 months ago
K so I am in high school ending my junior year. I want to work professionally as a game designer preferably game play mechanics and am planning on making some stuff with unity engine this summer perhaps start building portfolio. I am going to be taking ap computer science next year as well I have basic c++ knowledge. I wanted to know is making games in unity a good place to start to get good experience. And from people I have heard if you don't go to a top college you have little to know chance of landing a job. I just wanted to know what should I do to plan out this career. And what other things I should do to get a job in this field.
Advertisement

I've not worked in the games industry before, but looking at it from the general software development industry, I'd say that if you're relying mostly on your degree to land your first job, it can indeed be tough. You'll probably have to settle for a job that is a substantially different from your ideal job, and then try to work you way up/over.

The further into your career you get, however, the less and less relevant your degree becomes. Your past experiences, your portfolio, your professional network, and the ability to let all the knowledge and understanding that you have hopefully acquired naturally shine through in your interactions with potential employers become way more important. And you can get a jump start on a lot of that by making games. A lot of them. By the time you get your degree, it might already just be a supplemental item on top of your portfolio and acquired knowledge. Getting involved in game jams, conferences, and competitions can give you a jump start on networking also.