Full Model Shader

Started by
9 comments, last by Ashaman73 9 years, 10 months ago

How would somebody go about creating a shader that would effect the full model ( without the need of a texture ). For example, say I wanted to create a highlight shader on a model for a bad enemy, or highlight a model when the mouse is over it? How would people normally go about doing this?

Advertisement

That's probably one of the easier shaders possible. Unfortunately, I can't write it for you since I'm not a shader writer. But I know some stuff about shaders.

Anyway, do you have a graphics programmer you can ask? Or better yet, do a google search for such a shader?

Shane, I have a graphics programmer who doesnt know how... hence asking. I dont know what to "google" search since I am not a programmer. Any tutorials you may be able to link would be ideal and very helpful.

Shane, I have a graphics programmer who doesnt know how... hence asking. I dont know what to "google" search since I am not a programmer. Any tutorials you may be able to link would be ideal and very helpful.

Ask the graphics programmer if they can set the RGB to 0.5, 0.5, 0.5.

Are you using an existing game engine?
If you are using your own game engine, are you using OpenGL or DirectX?
My current game project Platform RPG

All great questions:

1) We are using a 100% homebrew engine

2) We are using DirectX 11.1 ( so fresh so new )

What precisely are you stuck on? The question as posed is 100% trivial graphics API 101 kind of stuff, so I'm assuming there's some actually complex thing you're trying to do you should be asking about instead. You might have better luck having your graphics programmer post and respond to questions instead; I've never seen much success with having someone act as the middleman between two technical parties in an engineering discussion.

Regarding your question as posted: