How to stay motivated in learning?

Started by
9 comments, last by Alessio1989 9 years, 10 months ago

Hello! I am on this forum because I want to know where I should go now. But first - Some story.

I wanted to learn how to program since I was 11, and I attempted to do so at 13 by diving into c++. I dipped my toe in and I realized that it is too tough of a language for a beginner. So I decided to learn Python. I started learning python at the beginning of 2013, and now I feel comfortable in the language. Now I want to move onto a different language.

So here I am, at 14 wanting to learn C++. I have an Ebook that I read every now and again on C++, but I seem to get demotivated from it. I understand that I have to read it to learn, but I want to get to parts I am interested in. Such as multifile programs, without learning pointers.

Then you should choose a managed language, like C# or Java (or even F# if you want to learn something different and still able to use the power of .NET platform... no, I cannot suggest you the other main horrible programming language for Microsoft's .NET..!)

C and C++ are native programming languages and you had to deal with pointers (especially with "raw pointers" at the beginning) and you need to understand how they work (and in general, how memory works), otherwise, all your attempts will result in shooting with a shotgun upon your ass! (Coarse but true).

Please also note that quite all modern programming language have pointers: maybe they are called "reference" or "handle" and you cannot deal with pointer's arithmetic... Or maybe they are hidden somewhere in the back-end of the language; but those little bastards are always there and a "null pointer exception" will surely happens someday even if your programming language claims to don't have pointers...