Help me test hypotheses about the first automatic video game music composer

Started by
4 comments, last by the incredible smoker 9 years, 9 months ago

Hi everybody,

I’m quite sure that most indie devs would agree that finding great music for their video games is a real nightmare. Either you have to pay a lot of money to have your music composed by a decent musician, or you have to spend a zillion years searching through endless royalty-free music databases.

However, since we live in the 21st century and we have amazing technologies, I think it’s the right time to get to “music composition 2.0”. I’m a young researcher at the university, who tries to ‘teach’ computers to compose awesome music on their own. Now, I’ve decided to implement some of my academic results in order to develop a system that automatically generates customized video game music in just a few minutes.

Would you please help me improve my system by filling out this form: http://goo.gl/tg76i1? The process takes less than 3 minutes. Also, if you leave me your e-mail you'll become an alpha tester, as soon as the system goes live.

If you want to help me even more, please have a 30 minutes chat with me on Skype. Let me be clear on this: I don't want to sell anything to anyone, I just need sincere feedback from hardcore indie devs to refine my ideas! I’ll also be ready to respond to all of your questions about the project. If you are intrigued by the project and want to chat with me, send me an e-mail to velardovalerio@gmail.com.

By the way, I obviously believe that computers will become world-class composers as well as amazing painters and writers. What's your thought on this?

Best Wishes

Valerio

Advertisement
Interesting survey.

"Would you buy the music generated by this automatic composer, if it costed £25 per minute?" That is a rather amazing price point, especially since there are many free and low cost alternatives out there.