What is expected straight out of college?

Started by
3 comments, last by BlakeM 9 years, 8 months ago

Hello everyone,

My name is Mike and I am in my 3rd year of my BA in Game and Simulation Programming. i was wondering if anyone could give me a little insight into what game development companies are looking for in someone straight out of college? What are they going to be looking for me to be able to do. I have noticed in my classwork and from advice from some professors that game development, specifically programming, is not something that is taught out of a book. It is learned as you do it, I have only had about 3 years experience programming and can do some small simple games and some parts of a game but nothing remotely close to a full game. i was just wondering if anyone could give me some idea of what they are going to be expecting of me when, or if, I break into the industry. Is it just kind of throwing them into a team immediately or is there a slow introduction to the process. i am just trying to get an idea of what i need to be able to do out of college in order to be noticed or considered for a job in the industry.

I am new to this forum and his is my first post so I am not sure if this is talked about anywhere else in the forums but I didn't see anything. I look forward to hearing from you guys.

Thank you for your time,

Advertisement

You'll likely get thrown straight into a team, but with the understanding that you're a junior. You might get about a week or so to read documentation, etc, or you might be given programming tasks on the first day!