Advice - Current skills / Where to go next?

Started by
3 comments, last by Serapth 9 years, 2 months ago

Hello all,

I posted a question here many months ago and since then I have landed a job in web development (wait, let me finish tongue.png)

So I've learnt a heck of a lot of techniques by using PHP. I have actually come at PHP from a C++ programming perspective as this is the language I started off learning.

Needless to say I've picked up the language extremely quickly and very confident in working with OOD, fairly complex classes, structures, references, pointers, memory management (from C++ background) multidimensional arrays etc.

Although C++ is a completely different beast than PHP I feel fairly confident I have picked up many of the nitty gritty design and implementation techniques to start programming for the desktop. I have built a partial network sniffer console application (raw winsock) so I've had some experience going low level.

I am hoping for some advice, currently I am looking at something on the lines of Librocket or SFGUI for UI/GUI design as I am very interested in designing for the desktop (I have only ever worked in console based applications).

Librocket purely due to my HTML5 and CSS3 skills.

SFGUI I am considering due to the fact that I am also considering using SFML for 2D game development.

Further down the line I am hoping to develop within Blender using its game engine (Python) as I do want to be able to jump over to 3D and use what Blender has to offer.

Essentially, what does this path sound like? Am I being too ambitious or thinking straight? There is a heck of a lot of libraries and frameworks out there and I do want to develop GUIs and also 2D games (SFML, interesting in working with graphics). I would love to develop landscapes, animation and models within Blender eventually too.

Thanks for all the input smile.png

Advertisement