What's the best way to learn audio middleware? Wwise, FMOD...

Started by
3 comments, last by yjbrown 9 years, 2 months ago

Hi

I'm a composer, sound designer and voice actor with a focus on audio for games. I've been doin this full-time for about 8 months now and have done some small projects.

I've been applying for in-house jobs and have had one interview. However I did not get the job, citing experience as the mitigating factor. Particularly I have found that I am found wanting in the audio middleware aspect of these job adverts.

I have had small, cursory glances at Wwise and FMOD but not really delved into them yet. I've also done a few audio implementation tutorial videos through Unity.

My question is, for those of you with experience of Wwise and FMOD what is the best way to learn how to use them? Any books, websites, videos you'd recommend. I've seen courses offering tuition on them, but they tend to be pretty expensive, enough to consider the self-taught approach...

Cheers,

Matthew Dear
www.matthewdear.tumblr.com

Matt Dear - Sound Design | Music | Dialog | Audio Implementation

www.mattdear.com

Advertisement

If you're an experienced sound designer I wouldn't bother with the classes. 90% of what you would learn is redundant. I would recommend grabbing a sample project and then just spend as much time as it takes for you to become comfortable with the software. Unity and Fmod work great together and there are a ton of resources available for each to get started.

Hi Matthew,

The Wwise Certification 101 course is free and well made to learn the core workflow in Wwise. You may want to take a look at it. For a more advanced sample project, the Wwise Project Adventure is a great tool (handbook and corresponding Wwise Project). Also free and available from the Installer.

Cheers,

Simon

The best imo is to use it on a project you make.