Advice for newbs. How did you start?

Started by
23 comments, last by newbie_game_dev 8 years, 11 months ago

How did you start? What did you do to get in to where you are right now?(making games or working for EA or ubisoft or an indie).

I started out by messing around with the bbc model B and master 128k in school in the library. I got hold of a technical manual and started from the simplest of games, text adventures, lunar lander type games, space invaders, etc. I program for a living but i don't program games, this is my hobby.

If you are a beginner on this generation. Are you still going to do the oldschool style of making your own game from scratch or are you going to use an engine like Unity,cryengine or unreal?

Obviously not a beginner in this generation, i'm from the 80s and early 90s generation, 2D, software renderers and doing it all from scratch were my bag. I'm having to adapt now and i'm considering taking a look into unreal engine.

Did you got to game programming school? or are you from different background? How does it help you from developing games?

I did computing at degree level but to be honest nothing i learned at university was really applicable to programming games, and very little of it was applicable to my career either. I found too much of my degree was theoretical rather than practical application of what i'd learned and that the real world is very different.

If you ever wanna get into game company as for starters will you ever gonna use a pre existing engine? our are you going to start from scratch to learn whats going under the hood as thats what most AAA company is looking for?(IMO)

I don't plan to get into any games company. If my own games make any money, then that's all well and good but i don't expect anything more than pocket change after my time and effort are taken into consideration. It is just a hobby, after all.

Advertisement

Ask me again in a few years when I have achieved something! wink.png