Developing a board game

Started by
11 comments, last by Eyal Solnik 8 years, 8 months ago

I would like to create a board game for mobile devices.

I have no knowledge whatsoever on game development and what platform as well as engine is the best for these kind of things especially board games.

I don't have much details about the game itself and because of this I don't really know what engine fits the best to the game, I don't even know whether I want to make it 2D or 3D but I prefer 3D.

My programming knowledge is very rich.

I know the following languages: C#, JavaScript/TypeScript, Lua, Java, C++.

My comfort zone is C# because it was the language I used most for the last 12 years but my background goes back to Pascal and C++ so I can pick on any language and platform.

I want to start developing the game for Android and then gradually support more platforms/devices.

My questions are as follow:

1. What is the best way to prototype games? what acceptable methods are used? what are your own methods to do that?
  2. I'm not a graphic designer or anything close so how do I create the graphic assets of the game like the board and all the different objects? is there a way to make this process "easier" for a programmer?
  3. I know about Unity but for a single developer that just starting is it a good choice?
  4. What are the benefits of using C++ in short-run and long-run? are there any challenges? my C++ is not that great but I definitely look for a fun project to improve it and this might be a good one to do it. :)
Advertisement

Hi there, good idea, just wub.png board games!
Will try to answer all of your questions, here it goes:

What is the best way to prototype games? what acceptable methods are used? what are your own methods to do that?