How to prepare for game programming from 10th grade?

Started by
13 comments, last by LAURENT* 8 years, 3 months ago

i am studying in the 10th grade , i wanted to ask that how can i prepare to become a game programmer from now on wards . Well, i only have the basic knowledge of computers , so please can you guys tell me which kind of preparation would help me.

Advertisement
Get a basic "how to program in (any language)" book, and start learning to program.
From now on, in school and college/university, you'll be responsible for your own learning. No one else is going to do a decent job of teaching you to program, so practice as much as you can.

Math classes are real important if you want to get into some subfields of programming so don't just get by in math.

Like Hodgman get a book on programming and learn from it. Also program, start small and work your way up... but no matter what code.

See if your school has coding classes, that might be good as well.

Any particular sub section of game programming in particular? Graphics for example.

-potential energy is easily made kinetic-

can you guys tell me which kind of preparation would help me.

Prepare to program by programming. Why would you do anything else?
Getting a book as mentioned above would be helpful, but you don’t even need to do that. I started with the TI-81 calculator I had at school and learned on my own.
There are trillions of tutorials online and plenty of languages. There is no reason you should be here asking this question rather than already programming something on some device in some language.

L. Spiro

I restore Nintendo 64 video-game OST’s into HD! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCtX_wedtZ5BoyQBXEhnVZw/playlists?view=1&sort=lad&flow=grid

Make Pong.

What will you make?