Breaking into Industry?

Started by
2 comments, last by Brain 8 years, 2 months ago

Hello!

I'm a Game Development Student and I need some guidance in terms of Games Programming. I've been learning how to write code in an array of different languages since a young age - I'm currently 17 - and I've always wanted to write videogames, like many of the other users on this forum.

However, I'm starting to worry a lot in terms of becoming a programmer. I honestly don't think I am intelligent enough or possess the knowledge to break into the industry. I'm somewhat comfortable in C++ and understand the language, however have never written anything practical using it. I'm not amazing at Maths either (I got a C in my GCSE, not sure what the US equivalent is) although it does interest me.

I also have moderate experience with C# and XNA, although in industry I don't see that being applicable. I guess the whole point of this question would be, what should I have a strong understanding of in terms of languages and mathematics alongside API's (OpenGL or DirectX?) in order to land a junior position at a company as Gameplay Programmer.

I'm sorry if this is a confusing post, I couldn't word correctly to be honest. And I understand that it may be broad question, but any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

- Will

Advertisement

array of different languages

heheheh... Array of programming languages...

Anyways, a good portfolio is very valuable. Try and learn some of the specifics of Monogame (it IS very similar to XNA), and make something. Eventually make a game you want to make, and get it out into the world. Perhaps it'll take off smile.png Perhaps not. All that matters is you expand your portfolio.

What will you make?

There's a forum dedicated to these sorts of questions that I'm sure a mod will move this to soon enough. You'll get plenty of opinions there.