Currently perusing a Computer Science degree, but I think I may be on the wrong path.

Started by
7 comments, last by 0r0d 8 years ago

January 2015 I started perusing a a Computer Science BS I really enjoyed it and in my part time I started learning Unity. Fast forward to now I am still doing alright in college, but I find that I am very bored/uninterested in my programming courses. I only really care about programming games but not so much anything else. I feel as though the Computer Science BS is not for me and I'm not sure where to turn. Just wanted to put this out there and get some thoughts.

Advertisement

Game development is a subset of all programming.

Do you mean that you find yourself more advanced than your peers and that the schooling doesn't seem right for you, or do you mean that computer science as a field is not interesting to you?

For the first one, a CS degree, like a degree in any field, directs you to study things you are not interested in so that you get broad understanding.

Remember that the degree is not meant as job training. The degree is meant to give you an understanding of the field. Assuming you apply yourself, upon completing the program you should be able to have reasonable conversations with anyone involved in programming regardless of their field and have at least a passable understanding of what they are talking about.

With the degree you should be able to learn any other programming-related item on your own from books or technical papers.

Also, while you may be the top of your class, you may be far beyond most of the peers at the computer science department, when you graduate your skills will be considered at the entry level, or possibly slightly above entry level. People in the industry with just a few years of experience will be able to surpass your abilities in most things, and senior developers will likely be able to outperform you ten to one or more. You may be the best of the students, but you are still a student.