Mapping a Sphere to a Cube

Started by
0 comments, last by JoeJ 7 years, 11 months ago

Hello,

I'm working on my planet renderer for a while now, and i'm stuck with the quadtree sphere.

So i constructed 6 quadtrees and formed a cube, but how can i map my sphere to this cube?

For instance, think of a line tangent to the surface of my sphere; the center of the line is the closest point to the sphere,

the more you go sideways, the more the distance increases. But that's for a sphere, for the cube all the points are equally distanced from the

side of the cube.

In order to make this work i'm thinking to somehow project a position from sphere space to cube space (excuse my terminology, i'm a self taught programmer).

Now, getting back to my tangent line, if projected to a cube, my tangent line should look like a parabola,but how can this be achieved for an arbitrary point around the sphere?

In other words, a circular orbit around my planet should describe a square path in the "deformed" space.

I need an algorithm that takes a vec3 as input, representing the local space (sphere space) and to output a vec3 representing the "deformed" cube space.

vec3 cubify(vec3 p);

I've noticed that the quadtree way of managing the sphere level of detail is used almost everywhere, and it makes most sense, however i couldn't find any information about this particular issue.

Thank you so much for your help!

Advertisement
assuming you use the simple transfrom from cube surface to sphere surface: vec3 sphereS = cubeS.Unit(),
going from sphere to cube is very easy - i'll show two methods:

1. intersection ray - plane

vec3 ray = (playerPos - planitCenter).Unit();
Find the largest dimension of (fabs(ray.x), fabs(ray.y), fabs(ray.z)) and it's sign to classify which cubeface to select.
Build a plane for that face, e.g. planeNormal = vec3(1,0,0) of positive x has been chosen.
Assuming the cube has a side length of 2, we can use the normal also for the plane position.