Switching From Deferred Shading To Deferred Lighting

Started by
8 comments, last by Hodgman 7 years, 9 months ago

Hi,

Unfortunately I haven't had much luck searching for information on this.

Basically I'm looking to take the source code to a game, take their deferred shading renderer, and switch it over to deferred lighting, or better yet, Tiled Index Deferred Lighting.

I'm very new to all this (still working through DirectX11 tutorials) but I've learned a lot in that time.

There are many reasons for wanting to switch the method of rendering, with the main one being adding a more complex BRDF system to the game.

Any help or useful links on this subject would be very much appreciated.

Advertisement

Well it highly depends on the source code that you've got, and how cleanly they've written their renderer.

A deferred shading renderer has two main steps:

1) Draw opaque objects to a gbuffer

2) Draw lights to lighting buffer

Your first step would be understanding enough of their source code to locate these functions and prepare to change them to:

1) Draw opaque objects to "thin gbuffer" -- change number of gbuffer textures and their formats, change this shader that writes to them.

2) Draw lights to intermediate lighting buffer -- change light shaders to read the new "thin gbuffer" format.

3) Draw opaque objects to lighting buffer -- using a new shader that uses the results in the intermediate lighting buffer.

I just want to make sure I understand this 100%

Step 1: Create thin gbuffer: by "thin" I suppose you mean either less things in the gbuffer, a lower DXGI format, or both?
The current Gbuffer consists of Position, Normal, Diffuse Light, Specular Light, and Material type.

Step 2: Create intermediate lighting buffer, so include all lights here, and then have it read the necessary info from the thin Gbuffer?

Step 3: Draw opaque objects to light buffer: straightforward