AngelScript execution speed?

Started by
12 comments, last by brightening-eyes 7 years, 6 months ago

How much faster do you think AngelScript should be? 10% faster? 50% faster? Twice as fast? 10 times faster? :)

If you have any suggestions for how to optimize the code I would be very interested in hearing that.

It's so funny (but also frustrating) when AngelScript is compared with Lua. I would love to have the resources that the team behind Lua has. You do know that Lua was invented back in 1993 by a team at a university and is still maintained by that same university (PUC-Rio in Brazil) and has actual investment money behind it? AngelScript on the other hand was invented by me in 2003 and is maintained by me with zero investment money? I've been working on AngelScript on my spare time for 13,5 years now. While some of the code has been contributed by community members it is practically a work done by a one-man-team.

All things considered I think AngelScript is comparing quite well to other scripting libraries out there (including Lua).

PS. Have you tried Blind Mind's JIT compiler for AngelScript? Perhaps it will allow you to get the performance you want.

hi,

AngelScript is easy to add to an application, and it has a syntax similar to C++, which i love and i'll use it
i've only showed my tests that i've done and the result, nothing else
at least when i've tryed the AngelScript with that JIT Compiler, it crashed the application
anyway, AngelScript is my favorite scripting language, although lua is faster (i appriciate your grate work that you are doing on AngelScript)
anyway, sorry

when you can't see well like me, you can't test your applications and you can't read something

Github

Advertisement

and a suggestion for byte-code optimization:
in my idea, it would be good to be able to add callbacks for byte-code optimization for example like this: