Realistic expectations for indie game developer

Started by
17 comments, last by Clintos 7 years, 2 months ago

I'm considering becoming a full time indie game developer within the next two years. I plan to perform most of the work myself. I work as a programmer and would likely use Unity to create a 2D side scrolling game. I've been working on my artistic skills for the last 6 years, so I plan to create the art as well.

The main concern I have is the possibility of getting in over my head. What I need to know is what's a feasible scope of game for one person to complete in 12-15 months? Are their any examples of indie 2D side scrolling games created by one developer within that time frame?

Advertisement

One bit of advice I learned several years ago is to grow into this gradually.

Estimate what you can do in one month. Then set a date of 30 days away. Build your project for 30 days. When you get to the end of 30 days, stop.

Evaluate what you did in 30 days. DO NOT CONTINUE THAT PROJECT. It is done.

Based on your experience, estimate what you can do in one month. Then set another date for 30 days away. Build for 30 days. After 30 days, stop.

Again, evaluate what you did in 30 days. Do not continue that project. It is done.

Repeat this for about six months.

Now you will have a solid understanding of what you can do in a given amount of time. Now you can start yet another project. It is okay to plan this one a little bigger, maybe have aspirations for it to be four or six months big, but only plan out for the first month. Plan out that single month knowing what the last six months have taught you, then build for one month. Then build another one-month plan, build it out for a single month. Repeat.