C++ For Absolute Beginner

Started by
12 comments, last by RobertCunningham 6 years, 8 months ago
1 hour ago, Lucas_Cage said:

I have a small question, let me hijack the topic for just one second, sorry :P

I remember watching a video on youtube where a similar example where made (with items, ice and fire sword which inherit from sword and what would happen if you then need an ice/fire sword, which is, it inherit twice from sword and either won't work or is not efficient, not sure which one is...), so what if you now want a Rogue/Fighter character? Inheritance would be bad cause you inherit twice from hero, right? Would the "Component design pattern" be commonly used to allow this "mixed hero stuff" in games?

Advertisement

The example is trivial and only exists to represent simple inheritance.  The structure given may fall apart at a certain level of complexity as all analogies do. 

To answer your question directly the inheritance is generally used when the design lends itself to a hierarchy of classes that are defined by what they are.  This is simply defined as a "is a" relationship.  The Sword is a wood sword.  Composition becomes more appropriate when the relationship is better defined by a "has a" relationship.  The Sword has an enchantment.  When making the decision between inheritance and composition we decide in simple terms if each instance of a Fighter is a Hero or if some instances of  Hero simply have the attributes of a Fighter.  In many cases both answers will be affirmative, but when we give a more practical look at our classes and how they will function in the program one solution generally emerges as superior.  Remember that this is about ownership.