Advice on becoming a producer

Started by
3 comments, last by jmcd 6 years, 9 months ago

Hi, this is my first post here and I'm hoping to get some advice. 

My background is in marketing, specifically digital marketing and SEO, and for the past 2 years I have been working as an Agile Product Owner in software development.

I've been wanting to go into Game Production for years, and have been told that my skills are transferable; particularly product management and project management, the outsourcing I did whilst a marketing/web dev contractor, stakeholder engagement, technical communication and cross functional team management. Aside from my professional career, I'm quite creative though in recent years I'm craving this more and more and can't shake the feeling that I'm not happy doing what I'm doing now and that I really want to be working in games. 

I've been a gamer and a geek since a young age, and professional fulfillment is really important to me. I crave working on things I'm passionate about. Sometimes I feel like I'm being greedy or naive by wanting this, but I'm starting to realise there's nothing wrong in that want. Some people are just built that way. Also, I'm approaching 30 and getting this horrid feeling it's all too late to change, so really just looking for some advice. 

At a gaming event a while back, someone recommended that I speak to game developers who might be in need of a producer and do some work for free to gain experience. I'm just about to take the leap and ask around (so if anyone has advice on that beyond me posting in some game developer forums - my next task - I'd be most grateful!). Production advice articles also mention trying to create a simple game myself to get a feel of the mechanics, which I'm excited to do, and also learn to code, which I can (at a reasonable level), albeit web development languages rather than gaming code languages.