Need Help Choosing Art Style

Started by
9 comments, last by Tom Sloper 6 years, 3 months ago

Hi all!

New member here.

Need help... I'm stuck between two styles for a game I'm working on. Basically, one is based more comics based and the other is my first attempt at digital painting. Can I ask for some criticisms and suggestions. It's my first attempt so please be gentle.

The game is a mix of Mark of the Ninja and the missions the Thieve's Guild has in Skyrim. So it will compose of interiors with a medieval theme.

Thanks.

-DFox

sample_1.jpg

sample_2.jpg

Advertisement

If you're in doubt of what style to go with, here's a suggestion: flip a coin. If it's heads you go with the comic style and if it's tails you go with the hand-painted style.

If you flip the coin and go "oh, no..." (disappointed at the result), then you finally found out which style you really prefer.

Going a different way, though, you could pick the style that's enjoyable and easy to work with so you can move on and make your game -- since you worked with both styles, you're the best person to gauge which one has these qualities.

One thing that I would do differently is to make a full mock-up of a game screen, including characters, ui elements etc. Maybe one of these styles will clash with something in an unexpected way, so you should give yourself more visual information to make a good decision.

Bottom looks more polished, but you should put a character in to see how well it integrates into the background.

Art style priorities depend on the type of game and what the player needs to see clearly and interact with. For example: