SFML and fast pixel drawing in C#

Started by
1 comment, last by Nypyren 6 years, 5 months ago

Hi. It's been a while since I posted here, and my last posts are almost about this exact same subject. Just saying to demonstrate how annoying this is to me.

Here is the problem : I'm trying to make a decent raycaster in C#. The main issue is that for this to happen, I need pixel by pixel drawing. My previous raycaster used VS GDI+, and trough several tricks involving pointers and filling a bitmap byte by byte, I was able to obtain half decent results, and make an online server-client style 3d engine complete with a map builder and several really cool features. I unfortunately wasn't able to expand the project further due to poorly written code (I am an hobbyist, I study Business Administration at Uni) and the fact that my quick hack for performance was barely able to carry the bare minimum of what I needed to make a very bare bone raycaster possible. This came with very real sadness, the realization that the project I spent almost 2 years on was essentially useless, bloated and impossible to expand on.