Should I use game engine? Why and which one?

Started by
7 comments, last by mr_tawan 6 years, 2 months ago

Hi! I am currently a highschool student who truly loves programming and gaming and I would love to start to make some simple 2D games but with nice ideas.

I don't pretend and can't spend money, that's why I am aiming at free stuff that could help me.

Currently I am developing my own REALLY simple game engine using Java, creating windows and a mini game inside it(like Pong, etc), but I aim to export games to Android/iOS and I feel that I should use a game engine for that even though I really like to create one by myself, since I feel like I am learning from that.

I also have experience with C#, and used it a lot to make some Windows programs and play around with Unity3D.

What do you guys think about it?

hi =)

Advertisement

You can either take 2-4 years and learn to program to the point you can make an engine, or you can just use Unity.

What will you make?

Unity's free version(sounds bad but it's not) is more than enough for most people's needs, and includes PC and mobile exports.  The only catch is the splash screen(not the big deal the whiners make it), and that you have to earn less than $100,000 per year(and if you make that amount it is a good problem to have :) )

If you have to ask, the answer is yes. Unity is about the best choice for beginners and that's a good place to start.

On February 12, 2018 at 11:04 AM, kburkhart84 said:

Unity's free version(sounds bad but it's not) is more than enough for most people's needs, and includes PC and mobile exports.  The only catch is the splash screen(not the big deal the whiners make it), and that you have to earn less than $100,000 per year(and if you make that amount it is a good problem to have :) )

But that's the thing: when I use a complete engine I feel that I am not learning at all. I don't know if that is silly, but I am really a beginner on game development.