Recently Decided to go for the Game Industry

Started by
2 comments, last by frob 6 years, 2 months ago

Hello everyone. I am a beginner in game development. I few months back I recently decided that my career path would be on the Game Industry. Of course its still a baby decision and has a lot of flexibility. I could end up being any software developer instead. But here's what I had to think about.

I was interested mainly in narratives. I always appreciated deep and rich meaningful storylines whether it was from a game or a movie/TV series. I'm more of an RPG, Mystery, Adventure type of person. I enjoyed theories about how the stories might unfold and stuff like that and the mystery thrill that goes along with it. I was kinda stuck between the Movie/TV Industry and Game Industry. But eventually, I thought maybe I should just jump on and start learning things that would help me get into the game industry. I am currently a senior high school student and in Computer Science, I am doing some game development. I'm still quite the beginner and I do feel intimidated. I jumped in on an Unreal Engine tutorial for beginners (its on Udemy by Ben Tristem) and I'm having difficulties grasping it. I do have doubts about succeeding. But that doesn't stop me from allocating some time to learn. I thought maybe I should try other engines and see if it will be an easier start. Right now I'm trying to learn Unity and C# and it seems like the learning curve will be much better. I'll still checkout Unreal Engine every now and then of course. I'm just testing to see which one would work for me best.