God Help Me, I'm Making A Tactical RPG

Started by
2 comments, last by Brakinja 5 years, 7 months ago

Hey there!

I'm new to being a game dev. My main skill sets are in art, writing, and design (gonna drop a link to the portfolio I use to sell at conventions): 

http://brakinja.blogspot.com/2018/02/piece-examples.html

So, my game was picked up by my university club 6 months ago, and me and a VERY small team have been trying to a demo happen. The problem? It's 1) a club project, so it's not at the top of people's to-do lists, and 2) I'm not a programmer, so even if I WANTED to get stuff done with it (and I do want to get stuff done), I can't. I'm needing to rely on other people to make my game for me, and I think I'm starting to get a little over it (not knocking their effort, mind you).

The main problem, is, again: I'm not a programmer. At all. I have no experience, and though I'm making progress in learning, I'm pretty far away form the skill of others that I work with. 

I'm a man on a mission to get skilled enough to work on his own darn game. The game will involve visual novel-esque dialogue, choice branches, a cutscene system reminicent of games like Gravity Rush and The World Ends with You, and of course, a tactical RPG combat system much like Final Fantasy Tactics and Fire Emblem. I've always been bad at Unity (not a programmer), and while Game Maker has been giving me better luck (I can actually make something move in Game Maker), I'm worried it can't do what I need it to do. God don't get me started on making an isometric map.

So here we are. How should I approach learning how to do this so I can help my future team (I know this won't be a solo project), what tools are out there I should consider, and what engine can help me make this game happen?

Advertisement

Since you've already had some luck with Game Maker, I'd say return to that, see how much you can do.