Texture mapping acts weird on some images.

Started by
26 comments, last by babaliaris 5 years, 4 months ago

I'm really not certain, and as for the gimp images, I'm pretty sure they are rgba, could be wrong though. Like I said, I'm really no pro when it comes to the inner workings of this stuff, and fortunately, it looks as if you've pretty much solved your problem. Maybe someone with more experience can chime in and thoroughly explain why its behaving this way.

Advertisement

Are you by any chance using OpenGL ES?
In that case, take a look at the documentation of glTexImage2D. Especially the sentence

By default, these texels are taken from adjacent memory locations, except that after all width texels are read, the read pointer is advanced to the next four-byte boundary.

That means after every row the pointer is rounded up to be divisible by 4.

The images from the explosion are exactly 480 pixels wide. Every pixel has 3 color values, which means 480*3 = 1440 bytes, which is divisible by 4. So no adjustment.
The image of the arrows is 115 pixels wide. This makes 115*3 = 345 bytes per line. OpenGL will then pad it by 3 bytes effectively skipping 1 pixel. So the second line will look 1 pixel shifted. The third line will look 2 pixels shifted.

I have already mentioned it but I think you have missed it. If you look at the rendered image you will see 93 pixels missing from the last line, which is the height of the image. If you load an image with 4 components the size of each line is trivially divisible by 4 which means no adjustments.

Curiously enough this alignment of rows seems to be only part of the OpenGL ES standard and not the normal OpenGL.

8 minutes ago, Cararasu said:

Are you by any chance using OpenGL ES?

glGetString(GL_VERSION) reports:

3.3.13541 Core Profile Context 24.20.13019.1008

How can I see if it is OpenGL ES? Does the above information says that I'm using regular openGL?

void life()
{
  while (!succeed())
    try_again();

die_happily();
}