How to create visual effects for newbie? (see images inside)

Started by
2 comments, last by Kryzon 4 years, 10 months ago

Hello. I'm creating a match3 like game and I wanna that my game has visual effects like on images below. 

My question is how can I create such type of effects? Is this a frame-by-frame animation or well written shader? Or this can be created using some particle system?

I'm a newbie in this field and I really do not know what I should start learning to create such type effects.

Here is a video of a cool Match3 game. If you set playback speed on 0.25 you can see how rockets and bombs explodes. May be this help you to understand

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gjAOF-rc1s

Below I attached screenshots of a bomb explosion

Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 3.23.23 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 3.24.20 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 3.24.31 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 3.24.45 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 3.24.57 PM.png

Advertisement
52 minutes ago, Alexander Nazarov said:

My question is how can I create such type of effects? Is this a frame-by-frame animation or well written shader? Or this can be created using some particle system?

I doubt that it is a (pure) frame by frame animation. If you have a look at the borders of the pressure wave, you will see that the neighbouring items are visible/mirrored through the wave.  So this seems to be a post-processing (shader) effect. The fireball might be a frame-by-frame animation but a lot of other techniques are also thinkable. The shards are probably just managed by a particle engine. As you can see on the last image, the violet shard in the centre beneath the blue box looks quite similar to the shard located in the lower right corner (the one that lies on the border of the pink surface). If you look closer, you will also find rotated versions of this shape elsewhere.

1 hour ago, Alexander Nazarov said: