Build, Expand, and Manage (Socially) Challenge is Now Live!

Started by
26 comments, last by Rutin 3 years, 10 months ago

https://gamedev.net/projects/2611-social-city-game/

Advertisement

Looking really good! ?

And it even feels like a game! Mine, not so much (yet!) ?

Fruny: Ftagn! Ia! Ia! std::time_put_byname! Mglui naflftagn std::codecvt eY'ha-nthlei!,char,mbstate_t>

Nice job! Looks great!

Programmer and 3D Artist

As we still have a bit of time left, I have added some extra buildings, Power (you now need to keep your city powered!), Schools and Universities. I'm learning a lot doing this, thanks for organising and look forward to seeing other people's work!

Great work! I have almost all my buildings done, and the design is complete along with how the game works. I just need to program now. ?

Programmer and 3D Artist

I'm in a bit of a rush as I only started programming yesterday… So I'm using SFML with C++ as it will be faster for me to complete this (assuming I can by the 3rd of July). All the 3D models are done up, but not textured yet. I haven't done any terrain yet. The GUI is complete for the most part, but pending the Main Menu system, and the New Arrivals which is AI controlled for filling in new citizen slots.

I made some quick snap shots of each model just to populate a test area until I have the the menus fully working so you can build, remove, and wait for new arrivals at day end. Then there is the market where you use resources to buy food and medical as well as sell off extra food, and even medical supplies if you need.

N, W, P refers to the layers. N = Normal Layer, W = Water Layer (shows which buildings have water access), and P = Power, same function as the Water Layer.

The AI will handle in new citizen approvals and disburse medical treatment as needed to move citizens from the hospital to their working stations. I want to expand more such as citizen job transfers but I wont have time.