do most of AAA games use ragdoll animations?

Started by
13 comments, last by JoeJ 3 years, 1 month ago

recently i saw a video from naughty dog engineer that they mix physics and animations to make more realistic animations and make each body joint have interaction with environment. there are some basic unity implementations and they dont look bad. i want to know is it something that used in most of games? i think current effects in video games cant simply be implemented with those capsule colliders, character controllers and basic animations graphs.

Advertisement

I think what you may be referring to is IK (Inverse Kinematics) . Ragdoll physics usually refers to death or dying simulations, where someone is being thrown around like a “ragdoll”. I think the capsule colliders are still usually implemented along with IK. The colliders are still used to keep a character out of the geometry and do sliding movement, and the IK is used to make it look more real. I'm not really an expert on this so maybe someone else can fill in the details.

Did not work on AAA games, but having good experience with powered ragdolls.

It looks like most games do not combine animation with simulation - there only is a hard switch from living animated skeleton to ragdoll after death. IK is used a lot, e.g. to adapt food placement, but that's no simulation.
I always wondered why there is no combination of both. It's pretty easy to do and can help a lot with realism. For example if animation is bad and violates laws of physics, e.g. when switching animations discontinuously, adding simulation can help a lot. Downside is it can also remove details from the animation and blur it out.