Indie Games or AAA studio

Started by
7 comments, last by francisbaud 3 years ago

Hi, so I am a beginner game developer and haven't quite developed my own game. Where should I apply? Indie games or AAA studio, I'm thinking more of Indie Games to start with? I want to be a game programmer and I see a lot of posting on Indeed?

Advertisement

AAA companies are very picky, and your competition for a job there is ridiculously fierce. What university degree do you have? What city do you live in? Got a portfolio?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

@Tom Sloper Okay so an Indie company may be more suited for me? I have a degree in Game Development and Design and I live in Las Cruces, NM. I have a portfolio, I need to get it published though. I showed some coding, design, game development of course and Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop things I have done on it. I have a current job as a Software Analyst already, so I am just thinking ahead to get a gaming job (what I really want to do).

New Mexico is pushing hard to try to encourage game development in the state. Maybe somebody will open a studio not too far from you, if there isn't already something. After the pandemic gets an all-clear (when? if?), companies will probably want their employees to live nearby. Check https://gamedevmap.com/​ and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_video_game_developers​ to see if there are any studios in your state (or, better, your local area).

You need to get your portfolio online. Your Software Analyst experience is a good start. Today's games are all about analytics. You can make a niche for yourself as the person who can program analytics hooks into the game on the client side and the server side. I suppose that's not what your dream is, but that's a way to position yourself to get your foot in the door.