First time poster, aspiring gameplay programmer.

Started by
3 comments, last by Shaarigan 2 years, 9 months ago

Hello everyone,

I'm currently a student studying game development & programming. I'd like to someday work for a AAA studio. So far I have been working with Unreal Engine. Although it is awesome to getting projects up and running quickly and iterate through them. I really wonder if what I am doing will get me to where I want to be.

I have been doing a lot of high-level programming & scripting(bp) and I'm starting to feel very comfortable with UE4. I made a few game loops, collision detections c++ actors, ray tracers, HUDs widgets, pathfinding AIs, HelloWorld plugin, procedural/runtime mesh generators, shader plugins, and I'm currently trying to learn to use UE4's GAS(Gameplay Abilities System) plugin in my current project is a casual game with Action RPG elements.

I'm starting to wonder if what I am doing will get me where I want to be. These techniques and skills I've learned while using UE4 seem to be more suited for a gameplay designer? I assume it is good to learn some of the concepts by using Unreal Engine especially when starting out, but when it comes to lower-level programming I feel a little lost. I have done stuff outside of UE4 like create a GUI application with C++ using OpenGL, console text games, and AI analysis for a checkers game that ran on Python. I took a course on Graphics but all we really did was talk about Graphic APIs and write a little C++ to make a cube and square on UE4… I didn't really feel like I learned much from it. I don't really understand how assets really fit into everything.

I know a lot of large studios build their own engines and tools for games and that gameplay programming is a broad topic but I'm wondering what else I can do to position myself more favorably in the job market.

Any insights or concepts I should gain a grasp on would be greatly appreciated!

-Winston

Advertisement