Advice on what to expect from a game programming job position? Tips to improve required skills?

Started by
2 comments, last by frob 2 years, 9 months ago

Hello all!

I am a current student enrolled in SNHU's Game Programming and Development program. I have a passion for video games, and I've truly enjoyed my time learning to program. However, throughout my time here, I've only learned the basics of a variety of languages such as C#, C++, Python, and Java. There were no in-school opportunities to practice advanced programming techniques. Is basic programming knowledge enough to land a game programming position? If not, any advice on how to efficiently improve? Furthermore, what are some common programming techniques used in the industry that I should become familiar with? Desired techniques for debugging or setting up gameplay systems? I know these are very broad questions, but I would appreciate any input whatsoever. Thank you very much for taking the time to read. Happy coding (:

None

Advertisement

Not working in game industry, but have been programming for 30-something years.

To me, programming is not writing computer code. Writing computer code is just a necessary evil to proof the solution works. Programming is about the steps before that.

It's about designing the structure of the program, the classes, the modules. Designing how it actually works at global level. And it's about before that, how to capture the problem at hand needs to be solved. What does one need to do to solve it? What to do in which order in the program such that you cover all possible cases of the problem and be as efficient (memory-wise and cpu-time wise) as you can? How to fold that in a program structure that fits?