How to Decide What to Cut?

Started by
8 comments, last by AngleWyrm6 2 years, 1 month ago

Hello everyone! I'm a college student taking classes on game development. I've learned quite a few languages (C++, C#, Python, and Java are the main ones) and I have some decent experience in Unreal Engine. I'm really hoping to get into the field of game design, my favorite thing to design being boss fights (although I love class design too!).

My question to any professional game designers out there is: How do teams decide what will make the cut? I know everyone has a whole lot of ideas on what should and should not go into a game, and game design is an extremely collaborative job, but when there are conflicting ideas, or if there are too many ideas to be able to fit in a game, how is it decided which of these ideas to go with and which to scrap?

Thanks for any responses, I look forward to seeing the perspective of someone with experience in the field!

None

Advertisement

You've got a budget, you need to decide where to allocate the resources. That's it, really.

Much of it comes with experience, learning what is essential versus what is optional. Good designers know both. Certain elements are key to the gameplay, certain other elements are key to the feel. Often the key emotional components are not key mechanical components, so the designer needs to recognize both. Then the designer needs to recognize what are nice, things that contribute but aren't essential.

Start with a big list, sort it. Keep it updated and sorted as time goes on.

One effective approach is to start with that list, get estimates for what they all cost, and go through it until you run out of budget. Anything below that mark gets cut. It's often good to do that in a range, these top x things are green and low risk, this range is yellow and might get worked on, the rest is red, wish list that won't be accomplished. It works well for everything from bi-weekly sprints to overall feature wish-lists.