Finding Opportunities - Being Highly Motivated and Slightly Picky

Started by
12 comments, last by Tom Sloper 9 months ago

Hey everyone. So, lately I've been applying to jobs of all kinds, but I'm mostly interested in production. I say that, because I believe my skill set puts me in a fair stance for such a position, but I need a little advice in that aim. I have been applying to roles in game design, production, and entry level development. I have novice skills in coding and art, but I've been a business owner for 11 years and recently landed a good job as a Project Manager at a graphics installation company near where I live in Maryland. I continue to run my business and work as a project manager. I won't get into finances, but it's safe to say I'm doing more than ok holding down these two roles. The money is not my problem. I long to do game development with a reputable, strong team of devs.

I have certs in Git and Agile both from Atlassian via Coursera and I'm under 4 months from completing my BS in Game Prog & Dev, maintaining a 3.97gpa. I've developed a few games and an app using Unity/C#. I'm growing evermore eager to break into the gaming industry, but can't seem to learn and grow fast enough to make it happen. Having applied to over 100 jobs in 1 year, landing 4 interviews and one full-time role in an unrelated industry, I'm feeling dazed. It's not like I'm discouraged, I just need to figure out where my true place is in this industry.

Will my role as a Project Manager help cut a path to Associate Game Producer? Should I be attempting to intern somewhere? Should I pursue a deeper knowledge of programming via a Masters in Computer Science? Should I capitalize on my entrepreneurship and start my own studio and develop my own games? Could I try to run a for-hire studio? Should I hone my skills in other ways as I have been, such as game jams and online cert programs?