Intercept/Get information about game map

Started by
5 comments, last by frob 11 months, 1 week ago

Hello, I'm a Backend developer and lately I've had an idea. I've been playing Squad for years and I always thought it was bad having to open that gigantic map on the screen, and I had the following idea, I wanted to intercept the game map information and send it to a web server that would mount the map and I could access it via tablet or cell phone , I tried to intercept the data using Wireshark but the data is encrypted. Does anyone know a method where I can get map data from my current game session?

Advertisement

The person with the encryption key no doubt knows, obviously.

As you don't seem to be that person, I assume you don't have permission to get the map. As such, even if I would know how to do it, I couldn't give that information to you as I would be assisting you in a data theft crime.

@Alberth I have no bad intentions, I just want to help the squad leader community, who need to open the map at all times in the squad. understand that I don't want to get information about the position of users on the other team, I just want to replicate the map that is displayed to the user himself on his cell phone.

Understand that the player already has this information on his screen, he would just like to be able to display it on his cell phone or on another screen, thus facilitating players who are leading other squads.

Wouldn't that count as an unfair advantage w.r.t opponents? You'd have a benefit of easier communicating position information or coordinating attack plans (assuming that's what you do in the game), wouldn't it?

I don't know the license terms of the game, but no doubt they added encryption for a reason.