Stealth And Detection System

Started by
19 comments, last by AliAbdulKareem 1 month ago

@JonathanSavastano Regarding the radar method, you don't need to calculate the tangent unless the viewing frustum changes in size (like you're doing a sniper scope effect). Just calculate it once when you set the field of view angle.

Advertisement

JonathanSavastano said:
It’s a very odd thing to be caught up on, as I think my question was quite clear. My initial post was easily understandable, so your point is moot.

Your question is largely nonsense, actually, just enough for people to understand it. The awkward phrasing has enough to more or less understand what you're looking for, but it is far from ‘quite clear’ to me, and I've been doing this for over two decades plus worked with a bunch of students and beginners. I could figure it out, but it isn't as clear to me as you've made it out to be.

JonathanSavastano said:
I'd also like to accomplish this task via code if it makes any sense to do so. Thus, I come to you all with your vast experience and knowledge to seek aid. Any resources or tips would be welcome,

Unreal comes with the source. I strongly recommend you open it up and read it. Understand it. Figure out what they did and why.

Doing it the way you asked about is seldom done, use what the engine gives because it is already there, it works, and it is easily understood from the source. It is going to be maintained in the future, with bugs fixed and improvements introduced. Only do more if you have read the source and understand that you have a compelling need to do more.