Getting started for an experienced programmer.

Started by
0 comments, last by IsekaiTruck 1 month ago

Hello, all.

Very very new here. I'm an experienced programmer with a specific idea. As such a lot of the design work has been done for me, and I'm confident in my programming skills. What I'm not confident in is my game development skills, and I'm smart enough to realize it's a very different beast than what I've done in the past. I'll detail more of what I want and my skillset and I'm asking for advice on language and toolkit and such to use.

My Desire

Many of you may have heard of the old 1990's Microprose game, Darklands. I'd like to make a… sort of clone of it, but more like a toolkit that people can use to make games LIKE it. I have a pretty clear idea of what I want the final product to look like. I also think that, as game designs go, this one is pretty simple. It's just an itch I want to scratch so I'm doing it myself.

What It Looks Like

Basically there are four different parts of the game:

• Character Creation/Updating. Yeah, this sounds pretty normal, but Darklands had a bit of a unique one so I'm separating it out, even if it'll probably share a lot of code and canvas design with the next one.
  • Story Interface. Kind of like a Visual Novel in many ways, this was basically static text over static images which offered various choices. These choices would be affected by your various stats and such. A good comparison for modern games is Long Live the Queen, but these choices could also take you to another part of the game.
  • Overworld Map. Pretty self-explanatory, you wander around in a 2d top-down map to go from place to place.
  • Combat Screen. Isometric combat screen. Think very very primitive X-Com Classic, though it was Real-Time with Pause instead of Turn-based(so, more like X-Com Apocalypse with awful graphics)