What makes a standout programmer?

Started by
29 comments, last by Wan 14 years, 2 months ago
Recently, the former head of a studio mentioned to me that each studio really only has 1 or 2 "rockstar" programmers; companies like EA bulk hire out of college, because they're essentially fishing for these stars. This surprised me, because from everything I've heard, the industry is difficult to get into. The ones that do enter, I presume, are extremely technically proficient. Looking over the portfolio analyses in this forum, I feel pretty safe in that assumption. I'm going to deprecate myself here, but as an IT programmer, I feel like most game programmers could code circles around most IT programmers, even if they weren't doing games. In an industry that already seems to take the best-of-the-best, what more is implied by "rockstar" programmer? What can we focus on to stand out from our peers? (And yes, I would have titled this "What makes a rockstar programmer?", but I think we all know a little about what it takes to be a Rockstar programmer these days...)
Advertisement
Off the top of my head, I can't really think of any standout game programmers. Games are made by big teams with tons of programmers, and group code review. You can't pinpoint anyone's contributions from the outside.

I can think of lots of standout designers though.

Shiguru Miyamoto, Hideo Kojima, etc...
Quote:Original post by SpriteChild
"What makes a rockstar programmer?"

Outstanding problem-solving skills and a bulldog tenacity to solve them. Work ethic (doesn't slough off, works on what's expected, achieves objectives) and good helpful attitude. Clean well-written code and a low bug rate.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Quote:
I'm going to deprecate myself here, but as an IT programmer, I feel like most game programmers could code circles around most IT programmers, even if they weren't doing games.