open GL , Direct X or Glide

Started by
9 comments, last by Zenshai 22 years, 9 months ago
I am new in prigramming(C 1 Month)and I want to learn more so I can make my own game(I dream that it will be a 3d game).Please tell me what should I learn????Open GL , Direct X or Glide and why?Please I know it`s too soon to strt with this but I think that if I have the right direction I will evolve to a better programming level more quikly.I want to thank everyone for reading this replying or not. Thank you for spending some of your time I know it`s valuable.
Advertisement
Have you kept your eye on the computer industry lately? Things move at a rapid pace. Video cards tripple speeds ever 6 months. The same goes for software. It''s hard to say what API''s will and won''t be around by the time you gain enough knowledge to use them.

Though I''m sure the OpenGL and DirectX die hards will argue that point with me until I''m in the grave.

Application Programming Interfaces such as OpenGL or DirectX are just an extension of your own knowledge, in specific areas. For instance if you know matrix math, and quaternion math...implementing movement in 3d is a breeze with either API. So my suggestion is to learn the math, programming and theory behind the API''s. This way when it comes time for you to learn one, it won''t be as difficult of a transition.
Joseph FernaldSoftware EngineerRed Storm Entertainment.------------------------The opinions expressed are that of the person postingand not that of Red Storm Entertainment.
Either DirectX or OpenGL. Check < href = "nehe.gamedev.net">NeHe for examples of OpenGL and NeXe for examples of Direct3d stuff. Then pick the one that looks better to you. Glide is dead forget about it.
Those who dance are considered insane by those who cannot hear the music.
Thank you both.You have been very helpful.

EOF
Btw, the Glide API has been dead for a couple of years now, really. That is why the others recommended OpenGL and Direct3D.
GLIDE is dead. R.I.P.