Pointer from C++ to Lua/Tolua++ as an argument.

Started by
2 comments, last by Ashaman73 12 years, 1 month ago
Hello,
I'm new to Lua and during the last week I've delved into the language and the libraries that bind C++ classes and functions to Lua.
Right now I'm successfully using tolua++ 1.0.93 with Lua 5.1.
Scripts like this work flawlessly:

c = Class:new()
print("LUA: Num is "..c:getNum())
c:setNum(DEFINED_VAR)

But this kind of script is not what I need. I want to be able to pass a pointer to Class from inside the C++ code to a Lua function defined in the script and call Class' functions there, effectively manipulating the passed object.
I've searched a lot about how it should be done, but I'm still confused. As I'm using tolua I suppose I should use tolua_pushusertype to pass the pointer to the object to Lua. But I cannot understand how can I use the passed object's functions.
Tell me please what should I do to get the result I want? Any tips will be appreciated as I'm pretty tired from not being able to solve this problem on my own.

-upd-
Fixed Lua capitalization, thanks to dmail.
Advertisement
I don't think is possible using the raw pointer. The only way I can figure is to map the pointer to an ID with a std::map so that LUA use the ID and C++ know how to get the the pointer back from a MAP using the ID. but this will be slow and probably there's a better way to do that. (for example each LUA object is linked in someway to its corresponding C++ object

Peace and love, now I understand really what it means! Guardian Angels exist! Thanks!