[SFML] Special Collision Detection

Started by
17 comments, last by superman3275 11 years, 7 months ago
So, I've been programming Breakout (I'm still trying!) and I ran into a problem: Using floatrects, how do I create proper collision detection. The ball can hit the blocks from all sides, which means there's four different ways the ball can collide, which means simply using
if (MyFloatRect.Intersects(MyOtherFloatRect))
{
// Collision detection
}

won't work? How should I handle collision? Thank you for reading my post, I'm sure there's a glaring solution I can't figure out :)

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement
Sounds like a good time to read up on _collision_ detection, which is a lot more interesting than _intersection_ detection. Just moving the ball and checking for intersection with a rectangle is going to fail anyway if your ball is moving too fast.

It also depends on whether you want to treat your ball as a point (for simplicity) or an actual sphere (requiring special handling for the corners) or if you don't need perfectly precise collisions anyway.

Of course, it could also be a good time to grab some simple 2D physics engine, if you just want it working without diving into the math behind it.
f@dzhttp://festini.device-zero.de
There are a few ways to do collision detection.

Grids, bounding box, pixel perfect, ect...