Game Music: How Much Does It Cost

Started by
7 comments, last by Cornutopia 20 years, 7 months ago
Anyone know the going rate for a game tune? If I wanted to sell music to game developers I''d like to know how much to ask. As a developer myself I know how much I''d pay for music but I''d like to know what other people would want or be willing to pay for an exclusive licence to use the tune (not the copyright). Mark Cornutopia Games http://www.cornutopia.net Bytten Independent Games Magazine http://www.bytten.com
Advertisement
A good standard is about 190-300$ per minute of music
All depends on the individual/company...

If its a liscense it would be a bit lower though...

[edited by - jaevin on September 14, 2003 7:34:08 AM]
"... And what really sickens me? :-) well a company I contacted informed me that they had an audio developer.. they have bio on their website, he graduated in marketing and was the lead programmer, audio really is the side job."
quote:Original post by Jaevin
A good standard is about 190-300$ per minute of music

If your looking to sell it to developers on here then thats a rediculusly(!) high price to pay!

[edited by - SpreeTree on September 14, 2003 7:37:29 AM]
I agree. Post a 'music wanted' ad here, and you'll get some good quality tunes with no price tag... offer $100 for a landslide of music.

Mark

[edited by - Mark Sheeky on September 14, 2003 4:04:45 PM]
Believe it or not, That is the LOW end of a standard pricing spectrum.

Indies should liscence good music if they cant afford to rightfully buy it out.

Theres nothing wrong with having competitive prices, but selling your self WAY too low should be discouraged IMO.
"... And what really sickens me? :-) well a company I contacted informed me that they had an audio developer.. they have bio on their website, he graduated in marketing and was the lead programmer, audio really is the side job."
Oh yeah 100$ per minute would be lowest I would ever suggest...